In Missouri, the statute of limitations for filing a car accident lawsuit is 5 years.
Like many other states in the US, Missouri is an at-fault state which means that the person guilty (or “at-fault”) for causing the car accident is responsible for covering the cost of damages to your car, your medical bills, lost wages, and the injuries to your body.
Once the other party is deemed responsible for the car accident, you have the option to file a claim with your insurance provider, file a claim with the other party’s insurance provider, or file a lawsuit against the individual or company that caused the accident.
There is one exception to this rule, however.
Under Missouri House Bill 339, Missouri became a “No Pay, No Play” state which essentially means if you are driving without having the minimum levels of automobile insurance, you may collect for your medical bills but you may waive your right to recover compensation for damages in a car accident.
For obvious reasons, there is no fixed amount given you will receive in a car accident settlement.
Car accidents without any personal/physical injuries or “fender benders” in St. Louis, Missouri typically result in settlements between $3,000 – $15,000.
Having said that, the settlement amount will ultimately depend on the damage caused in the automobile accident and also the type of car, truck, or SUV that was damaged.
This is a very difficult question to answer because there are so many issues and variables that can go into getting an injury claim settled.
Depending on the nature of the automobile accident, the severity of the injuries you have sustained, and the number of your medical bills and lost wages, your car accident settlement in Missouri can range anywhere from $15,000 to $1 million+.
Things like driving whether the defendant (“at-fault” party) was driving under the influence, driving without a license, and other negligent actions will certainly strengthen your case and cause additional punishments to be handed down to the defendant. These issues can also help increase the compensation you receive.
Missouri allows you to receive compensation for:
Like the answer to “How much money will I receive for my car accident settlement?”, this question’s answer is one that depends on many varying factors.
For car accidents without any injuries and can simply be handled through the involved party’s insurance agencies, you’ll usually see your compensation payment within 6 weeks of the accident.
If your accident involves injuries, you are almost certainly going to have to wait longer than 6 weeks, and if you are not happy with the insurance agency’s settlement or you want to file a lawsuit against the driver for negligence, your timeline will depend heavily on the legal process and the courts.
If you have been in a car accident in St. Louis, Missouri, or any of the surrounding areas, including Illinois, we advise contacting our skilled automobile accident attorneys for a free consultation.
We can help you determine a fair settlement and the steps you should take to maximize your settlement amount.
Fill out the form below to schedule a free consultation with Craig
What is workers’ comp insurance and how does it work? Like most insurance policies, workers’ compensation insurance policies can be […]
What is a Statute of Limitation? Every state has the authority to create its own laws and governs how the […]
An intro to workers’ compensation Put simply, workers’ compensation is when an employee receives compensation after suffering from a work-related […]