As a car accident attorney in St. Louis, this is a question we are frequently asked.
Car accident lawsuits are some of the most frequent types of claims not only in Missouri but in the United States (and likely around the world).
Traveling by car, truck, SUV, and any other type of automobile has become a standard way of life in most parts of the world, so it makes sense they are involved in such a high portion of lawsuits.
In short, you have 5 years to file a car accident injury and property damage claim in Missouri.
If one of the parties involved in the car accident is uninsured, you must fill out the Missouri Driver License Bureau’s Motor Vehicle Accident Report within 12 months.
The statute of limitations for every type of claim/lawsuit varies depending on the state.
In the United States, you have between two and six years to file a claim after you or a loved one has been in a car accident.
Missouri Code section 516.120 states the statute of limitations and requirements for file a report include:
It is important to avoid common mistakes when filing a personal injury claim.
With that said, if you follow these instructions and reach out to a local injury attorney with any questions, you will be fine!
In Missouri, there are several requirements for when you must file a car accident police report, however, if anyone has been injured in the accident, you must contact the police right away.
Addressing any injuries with first responders is important not only for your health but also for any claims or lawsuits in the future.
Having a reliable witness to document your injuries makes a significant difference in all personal injury claims.
We also suggest taking pictures of the scene and any damages to vehicles or other property.
Once you have addressed any injuries and your police report has been filed, you should call your car insurance company.
They will then walk you through your next steps and assign a claim specialist to your case.
If either party involved in the car accident is uninsured, the Missouri Department of Revenue/Driver License Bureau requires you to fill out the Motor Vehicle Accident Report.
It is made up of five sections that usually takes 45 minutes to 1 hour.
Once you have completed the form, it can be submitted one of the following ways:
Via mail sent to:
Missouri Department of Revenue, Driver License Bureau
P.O. Box 200
Jefferson City, Missouri
Via email to:
Or via fax to:
In many cases, your car insurance provider will be able to negotiate with the other party’s provider to settle your claim.
If you are unhappy with your settlement or you have sustained injuries not address in the claim filed by your insurance provider, we recommend you contact a local personal injury attorney with experience in car accident claims.
There are many things that may be covered in a car accident settlement, but the most common things include:
While most cases simply require the guilty party to cover the damages to the victim’s vehicle, more severe automobile collisions that cause injuries may result in a larger settlement to cover the cost of things like medical bills and a loss of income due to missing work.
As you probably know, every car accident settlement amount is different due to the circumstances surrounding each case. The amount will vary depending on different factors like the injuries sustained in the car accident, the medical treatment and bills for the injuries, damage caused to your vehicle, the type of vehicle your drive, and so on.
Car accident settlements that only involve repairing or replacing the victim’s vehicle typically range between $3,000 and $15,000.
If there are injuries, that amount will certainly go up. There is no (easy) way to determine the average car accident injury settlement. Every case is different and there no simple answer to this question. Please contact Ortwerth Law to discuss your car accident and injuries with an experienced lawyer.
Also, even if you are partially at fault for causing the accident, you may still be able to receive damages for injuries. Please call the St. Louis personal injury lawyers at Ortwerth Law to discuss the facts regarding your car accident.
Laws and statutes are determined State by State, however, certain cities in a state may have different fines and requirements than other states.
Car accidents are always a scary moment, but if you follow these steps, report your car accident, and file your claim within 5 years of your accident, you will receive the compensation you deserve.
If you have any questions or think additional damages can be claimed, contact the St. Louis car accident attorneys at Ortwerth Law to discuss your case and get your questions answered.
Fill out the form below to schedule a free consultation with Craig
What is workers’ comp insurance and how does it work? Like most insurance policies, workers’ compensation insurance policies can be […]
What is a Statute of Limitation? Every state has the authority to create its own laws and governs how the […]
An intro to workers’ compensation Put simply, workers’ compensation is when an employee receives compensation after suffering from a work-related […]